At Clouding, we are committed to providing you with a service that best suits your needs, so you only pay for what you really use. That is why we offer you the ability to archive your cloud server when you are not using it.
What is the Archived?
Archiving is an option that allows you to shut down your server and temporarily remove it from the platform.
What happens when I file my cloud server?
When you file your cloud server, it will shut down - if it is not already turned off - and be removed from the hypervisor it's running on and you won't be able to access it again until you reactivate it.
The advantage of archiving your server is that while it is archived you only pay for the disk you have hired, not for the RAM or the CPU.
How much does it cost to have my server archived?
It depends on the size of your server, say for example a server with 16GB of RAM 8 vCores and 100GB of Disk using a free operating system such as Ubuntu.
* To see the difference more clearly we will use monthly rates in this example, instead of hourly.
Normal monthly cost
- RAM: € 20
- vCores: € 20
- Disc: € 10
Total: € 50 / month
Monthly cost filed
- RAM: 0 €
- vCores: € 0
- Disc: € 10
Total: € 10 / month
Remember that if you have backups enabled for your server, they will continue to run and charged while the server is archived.
How long does archiving take?
Archiving your server takes just a few seconds, reactivating it may take a few minutes, depending on the platform load. What happens to my IP while my server is archived?
Nothing, your IP is still allocated even if your server is archived. When you reactivate it you will still have the same IP.
Is it better to file my server or take a Snapshot?
Taking a Snapshot and deleting your server is a good alternative to archiving, so let's take a look at the differences:
- Lower cost: Snapshot 100GB € 2.5 a month
- Slower: You will need to create a new server from your Snapshot before you can use it and recreate the Snapshot every time you want to stop using it.
- IP change: When you create the server from the snapshot the system will assign you a different IP each time.
- Less transparent: every time you create a server from a Snapshot it is a new server. New MACs and some applications can give you problems with the change.
- Higher cost: 100GB Server Filed = € 10 per month.
- Faster and more flexible: Just click to Archive or activate your server and it will be archived or active in only a few seconds.
- Same IP: Your IP stays assigned to you while your server is archived.
- Transparent: there are no changes in MAC or other parameters, the server you reactivate is the same as the one you archive.
In short, choose the best option depending on when you use your server. If you are going to use it every several weeks or even months, it may be more profitable to take a snapshot of it and delete it. Otherwise, Archiving may be a better option.